Real Life?

catamaran

Is this how real people live?

On Saturday night I was invited to a friend’s 40th birthday party at Manly beach.  Wow, this is kind of big deal for me, to not only be invited to a birthday party, but to a weekend away at the beach with some friends???

The plan was for me to catch the Manly ferry from the city, check into the apartment in the afternoon, get changed into my fairy outfit, make our way to the beachside bar to celebrate, crash the night at the apartment, have brunch with everyone on Sunday morning and catch the Manly ferry back home. Phew!

In itself, this kind of social event is a once in a year type of event for me, but to find out the party had moved from a bar to a moored catamaran in the Manly harbour was surreal. How does someone like me end up at a party on a boat like this???

Needless to say the weekend wasn’t quite all wine and roses (I think I will write a follow up post detailng the major problem/s after this post), but I feel like it was the perfect starterlife weekend in that I was able to enjoy other people’s personalities and activities and yet I was able to be my own eccentric, unique self too.  I didn’t have to pretend to be someone I wasn’t and I didn’t stand out as being a weirdo like I always fear. 

Have I got it? Do I finally now understand how to do this life thing?  I’m not sure, but I think I am slowly getting there. 

Year of the OX, Year of the OX.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

